logo en

liputus resp

Flag Days and Holidays in Finland

Finnish National Public Holidays 2018, 2019 and 2020

2018 2019 2020 Holiday
Mon 1 Jan Tue 1 Jan Wed 1 Jan New Year's Day
Sat 6 Jan Sun 6 Jan Mon 6 Jan Epiphany 
Fri 30 Mar Fri 19 Apr Fri 10 Apr Good Friday 
Sun 1 Apr Sun 21 Apr Sun 12 Apr Easter 
Mon 2 Apr Mon 22 Apr Mon 13 Apr Easter Monday 
Tue 1 May Wed 1 May Fri 1 May Vappu (May Day) 
Thu 10 May Thu 30 May Thu 21 May Ascension Day 
Sun 20 May Sun 9 Jun Sun 31 May Whit Sunday 
Fri 22 Jun Fri 21 Jun  Fri 19 Jun Midsummer Eve* 
Sat 23 Jun Sat 22 Jun Sat 20 Jun Midsummer 
Sat 3 Nov Sat 2 Nov Sat 31 Oct All Saints’ Day 
Thu 6 Dec Fri 6 Dec Sun 6 Dec Independence Day 
Mon 24 Dec Tue 24 Dec Thu 24 Dec Christmas Eve*
Tue 25 Dec Wed 25 Dec  Fri 25 Dec Christmas Day 
Wed 26 Dec Thu 26 Dec Sat 26 Dec  Boxing Day 

* Even though they are not official, public holidays, not all Finns work on Midsummer Eve and Christmas Eve. Some businesses are closed the whole day and some, such as grocery stores, are open for part of the day. This practice is dependent on labour union contracts. Moreover, public transport will run on special holiday timetables.

Information on holidays is freely available. However, please cite the University of Helsinki Almanac Office as a source when publishing this information when possible.

The Finnish calendar has 19 flag days. The calendar for the Swedish-speaking population has three additional official flag days for the Åland Islands. The Sámi have 11 of their own official flag days.

For Finnish flag days and information on flag raising >>
(Finnish Ministry of the Interior)

Login Form